Young Leaders of the Americas Initiative (YLAI)

cropped YLAI Logo new header 1

YLAI in front of Capital

President Obama’s Young Leaders of the Americas Initiative (YLAI) empowers entrepreneurs and innovative civil society leaders to strengthen their capacity to launch and advance their entrepreneurial ideas and effectively contribute to social and economic development in their communities. In fall 2016, 250 YLAI Professional Fellows from Latin America and the Caribbean will expand their leadership and entrepreneurial experience through fellowships at businesses and civil society organizations across the U.S. Through the YLAI Entrepreneurship Institute and the individualized Entrepreneur Mentorships, YLAI Fellows will accelerate their commercial and social ventures’ success and develop specific action plans to carry out upon return to their home countries. YLAI Professional Fellows will build networks, linkages, and lasting partnerships to attract investments and support for their entrepreneurial ventures. 

Since being awarded this opportunity, UCCD is looking forward to working with 10 individuals from various Latin America and Caribbean countries by providing a fellowship on the Wasatch Front.

Above all, the goal is to connect the Professional Fellows with business and social entrepreneurs, including nonprofit organizations, from October 8, 2016 until November 7, 2016. Currently, we expect the Professional Fellows to work Monday-Friday morning at a host organization. In addition to the fellowship, we are planning on having the fellows come together once a week for workshops focused on key aspects of entrepreneurial activity and skills needed for success.  

Professional Fellows are the resident and citizen of one of the participating countries*: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Maarten, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela. * In the specific cases of residency in Aruba, Curacao and St. Maarten, citizenship in the Netherlands is accepted